Auxiliaries and Bookstore Resource Guide

Documentation of the processes developed for the deployment and sustainability of AL$ commercial programs.  Information on Bookstore and Commercial Service contacts, State and Federal Legislation, Accessibility, and Vendor contact. (updated April 2017)


TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. ACCESSIBILITY:

AL$ Featured Partners' VPATs

AL$ featured partners have submitted a VPAT (voluntary product accessibility template) with Academic Technologies and have been reviewed by CSU Center for Accessible Media. Each partner is reviewed for compliance and proactive planning. They have submitted qualifications and parameters for provision on campuses and partnering with bookstores.

Our goal is to help you choose the best available materials for your students, including those with disabilities, that will help them reach the desired outcomes most successfully.

AL$ efforts support Section 508, in that instructional materials developed or implemented must be accessible to all students, regardless of disability.  However there may be times where you should collaborate with your campus Disability Support Services to ensure your materials are accessible and available in a timely manner.

II. ACCOUNTING:

As new pilots and programs are developed, tested, and/or deployed, generic accounting templates for campus bookstores and collaborating campus departments are compiled. For a copy of any generic accounting template, please contact the CSU bookstore liaison by email. Sehrhorn@calstate.edu

III. BOOKSTORES:

A. Bookstore Advisory Team was established in 2012 with input invited from 23 campus bookstores. The committee meets once annually in person during fall term and via phone/email as needed for reviews, recommendations, and other issues. It is comprised of bookstore directors, course materials managers, at least one regional manager. The 2017-2018 committee includes: Kathy Brown, Sarah Foisy, Dusty Guthier, Steve Higgenbotham, Jesse Nelson, Sabrina Pound, Pam Parsons and Russell Markman. Qualifications include quick email response to questions, availability to attend annual meeting, and will be subject to balance the committee with contract store companies and independent stores.

B. Affordable Learning Solutions will host an annual meeting for all bookstore directors, course materials managers, and regional managers annually and it will be held in two locations (one northern California and one southern California) in spring.

Annual Meetings are held in the northern and southern regions. These meetings are duplicates and all store directors, course materials managers, and regional reps are encouraged to attend one of them.

IV. FACULTY:

  1. Open Educational Resources
  2. MERLOT
  3. Free Online Courses
  4. Lower Cost materials
  5. Llibrary Resources
  6. Custom Publishing
  7. Campus Showcases
  8. Deploying AL$
  9. Webinars
  10. AL$ Featured Partners

V. LEGISLATION:

AB 960 Brough, Sales and use taxes: exemptions: textbooks.

SB 727 Galgiani, Instructional materials nnovative pricing.

SB 1359 Medina, Course materials.

AB 798 Bonilla, Textbook Affordability Act of 2015.

SB 1052 Steinberg, Open Education Resource Council.

SB 1053 Steinberg, Cool4ed California Digital Open Source Library

AB 317 Soloria, Textbook Affordability.

AB 1548 Solorio, College Textbook Transparency Act.

AB 2471 Lara, e-Textbooks Transparency and Fairness.

AB 2477 Liu, Production and pricing of college textbooks.

SB 48 Alquist, Electronic Alternative.

SB 216 Liu, Posted List of textbooks and prices. 

SB 386 Runner, Reducing prices, justification for new adoption.

SB 388 Calderon, Edition and Content.

SB 1328 DeLeon, Format and adoption search engine.

Sales Tax and Use Law, unbundled components: http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/business/current/btlg/vol1/sutl/6011.html

SB 850 Zero Degree Programs: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140SB850

VI. CONTACT LISTS:

A. CSU Bookstore Directors: The following list identifies the person with overall responsibility for the CSU campus bookstore. Titles, breadth of responsibilities and line-of-reporting are NOT uniform on the campuses. Also, stores are either leased (Follett or B&N=Barnes and Noble) or self-operated by the auxiliary/foundation (A=self op.)

Bakersfield (F) (Schuckman) Richard Salcedo 1250mgr@fheg.follett.com 661-654-2273
Channel Islands (F) (Schuckman) Kathy Willmont 0591mgr@follett.com 805-437-2668
Chico (A) (Parsons) Sarah Foisy 1390mgr@follett.com 530-898-5222
Dominguez Hills (F) (Schuckman) Rick Dorsey 0886mgr@follet.com 310-243-3828
East Bay (F) (Kiryakakis) Jaime Scobel 1106mgr@fheg.follett.com 510-885-2726
Fresno (A)   Curt Parkinson cparkinson@csufresno.edu 559-278-4251
Fullerton (A)   Kim Ball kball@fullerton.edu 657-278-3418
Humboldt (F) (Russell) Dominque Johnson 1268mgr@follett.com 707-826-5833
Long Beach (A)   Jared Ceja jared.ceja@csulb.edu 562-985-4003
Los Angeles (B&N) (Delmuro) Elaine Reed sm670@bncollege.com 323-343-5392
Cal Maritime Academy (F) (Parsons) Irene Tjokro 0766mgr@fheg.follett.com 707-654-1186
Monterey Bay (F) (Parsons) Josee Gendron jgendron@follett.com 831- 582-5262
Northridge (F) (Schuckman) Amy Berger aberger@fheg.follett.com 818-677-2932
Pomona (A)   Clint Aase craase@cpp.edu 909-869-3762
Sacramento (F) (Parsons) James Ontiveros 0037mgr@follett.com 916-278-6446
San Bernardino (F) (Duits) David Watts 1100mgr@follett.com 909-537-7096
San Diego(A)   Kathy Brown kathy.brown@darth.sdsu.edu 619-594-6954
San Francisco (F) (Kiryakakis) Husam Erciyes herciyes@follett.com 415-338-2023
San Jose (B&N) (Schmit) Jesse Nelson sm8011@bncollege.com 408-924-1845
San Luis Obispo (F) (Duits) David Watts dwatts@follett.com 805-756-5301
San Marcos (F) (Duits) Pamela Lovsted 1259mgr@fheg.follett.com 760-750-4730
Sonoma (B&N) (Hagge) Steve Higgenbotham sm499@bncollege.com 707-664-2329
Stanislaus (B&N) (Hagge) Janelle Maiwald sm525@bncollege.com 209-667-3161

(Updated February 2018)

B. CSU Bookstore Course Materials Managers: The following list identifies the person with responsibility for course materials. Titles, breadth of responsibilities and line-of-reporting are NOT uniform on the campuses. In many instances the store director is the only approved contact. Also, stores are either leased (F=ollett or B&N=Barnes and Noble) or self-operated by the auxiliary/foundation (A=self op.)

Bakersfield (F) TBA 1250txt@follett.com 661-654-2273
Channel Islands (F)   0591txt@fheg.follett.com 805-482-5456
Chico (A)   1390txt@follett.com 530-898-6966
Dominguez Hills (F) Amanda Enriquez 0886txt@fheg.follett.com 310-243-3103 ext 3202
East Bay (F) Eduina Escobar 1106txt@fheg.follett.com 510-885-3507
Fresno (A) Dusty Guthier sguthier@csufresno.edu 559-278-4062
Fullerton (A) Claude Damsa cdamsa@fullerton.edu 657-278-3418
Humboldt (F) Katie McCreary 1268txt@follett.com 707-826-5833
Long Beach (A) Rochelle McCoy rochelle.mccoy@csulb.edu 562-985-7705
Los Angeles (B&N) Brian Griffin TM670@bncollege.com 323-343-2500
Maritime Academy (F) Dulce Ramirez 0766txt@fheg.follett.com  
Monterey Bay (F) Jared Issaef 2029txt@follett.com  
Northridge (F) Robert Munck 0150txt@fheg.follett.com 818-677-2932
Pomona (A) Suzanne Donnelly smdonnelly@cpp.edu 909 869 3284
Sacramento (F) Sabrina Pound 0037txt@follett.com 916-278-6446
San Bernardino (F)   1100txt@fheg.follett.com 909-537-5966
San Diego (A) Ben Compton ben.compton@darth.sdsu.edu 619-594-7543
San Francisco (F) Wendy Johnson 1304txt@fheg.folett.com 415-338-7377
San Jose (B&N) Emma Mead TM8011@bncollege.com 408-924-1845
San Luis Obispo (F) Deanna Carrol 2020txt@follett.com 805-756-1171
San Marcos (F) Melanie LaCroix 1259txt@follett.com 760-750-4730
Sonoma (B&N) Courtney Best TM499@bncollege.com 707-664-2329
Stanislaus (B&N) Steve Gomez tm525@bncollege.com 209-667-3161

(Updated February 2018)

C. Auxiliary Commercial Shops Contacts: The following list identifies the campus employee with overall responsibility for a foundation organization that oversees the bookstore, bookstore contract, and provision of course materials under contract to the campus. Titles, aggregated foundation departments, and line-of-reporting are NOT uniform on the campuses.  (Updated February 2018)

Bakersfield Thomas Wallace vpsa@csub.edu
Channel Islands Erik Blaine erik.blaine@csuci.edu
Chico David Buckley dbuckley@csuchico.edu
Dominguez Hills Richard Chester rchester@csudh.edu
East Bay Debbie Chaw Debbie.chaw@csueb.edu
Fresno Debbie Astone debbiea@csufresno.edu
Fullerton Chuck Kissel ckissel@fullerton.edu
Humboldt Dave Nakamura dave.nakamura@humboldt.edu
Long Beach Don Penrod donald.penrod@csulb.edu
Los Angeles Alma Sahagun sahag@cslanet.calstatela.edu
California Maritime Academy Mark Goodrich mgoodrich@csum.edu
Monterey Bay Kevin Saunders kesunders@csum.edu
Northridge Rick Evans rick.evans@csun.edu
Pomona David Prenovost dfprenovost@cpp.edu
Sacramento Jim Reinhart jim.reinhart@csus.edu
San Bernardino John Griffin john.griffin@csusb.edu
San Diego Todd Summer todd.summer@sdsu.edu
San Francisco Jason Porth jporth@sfsu.edu
San Jose Lisa Thomas lisa.thomas@sjsu.edu
San Luis Obispo Lorli Leetham lleetham@calpoly.edu
San Marcos Bella Newberg Newberg@csusm.edu
Sonoma Neil Markley neil.markley@sonoma.edu
Stanislaus Darrell Haydon dhaydon@csustan.edu

D. BOOKSTORE WEB SITES

E. COURSE MATERIALS VENDOR MEMBERS OF NACS:

Please contact AL$ bookstore liaison for specific information sehrhorn@calstate.edu

F. AL$ VENDOR PARTNERS

BARNES & NOBLE: Nicole Guerrieri nguerrieri@bncollege.com
  Sean O'Connor sean.oconnor@bnedloudcloud.com
     
     
CENGAGE: Sara Cherney sara.cherney@cengage.com
  Christopher Cummings christopher.cummings@cengage.com
  Leah Pickford leah.pickford@cengage.com
  Daniella Popoff Daniella.popoff@cengage.com
     
  Robyn Cristofani robyn.cristofani@cengage.com
COGBOOKS: Nicholas Rebne nicholasrebne@cogbooks.com
ELSEVIER: Luane Guyton l.guyton@elsevier.com
  Mascha Scheutjena m.scheutjens@elsevier.com
FOLLETT: Michael Gogliotti m.gogliotti@follett.com
INGRAM: Mark Sullivan mark.sullivan@ingramcontent.com
INTELLUS LEARNING Margaret Cook Margaret.cook@macmillan.com
  Megan Heppner megan.heppner@intelluslearning.com
LEAP INNOVATIONS: Liz Pisney liz.pisney@leapinnovations.com
MACMILLAN Krisitn Strong kriston.strong@macmillan.com
MCGRAW HILL: Davis Salo david.salo@mheducation.com
  Matt Denham matt.denham@mheducation.com
     
MONTEZUMA PUBLISHING Kim Mazyck kim.mazyck@darth.sdsu.edu
W.W.NORTON: Mike Wright mwright@wwnorton.com
OPENSTAX: Nicole Finkbeiner nicolef@rice.edu
PEARSON: Elizabeth Kaster Elizabeth.kaster@pearson.com
  Ryan Toussaint ryan.toussaint@pearson.com
  Amber St. John amber.stjohn@pearson.com
     
  Jill Promesso jill.promesso@pearson.com
REDSHELF: Shannon Godfrey Shannon@redshelf.com
  Jenna Boswell jenna@redshelf.com
     
SCHLAGER: Neil Schlager neil@schlagergroup.com
TOP HAT: John Holdcroft john.holdcroft@tophat.com
  Jonas Dobransky Jonas@tophat.com
  Adam Fremes adam@tophat.com
  Jesse Reich jesse@tophat.com
VERBA: Ryan Peterson ryan.peterson@verbasoftware.com
  Maxine Sarai Maxine.sarai@verbasoftware.com
VITALSOURCE: Ryan Hively ryan.hively@ingramcontent.com
WILEY: Jason Dodge jdodge@wiley.com
  Karen Tinley ktinley@wiley.com
  Susan Fackert sfackert@wiley.com
     
XANEDU CSU BRAND CUSTOM PUB: Brett Costello brettcostello@xanedu.com
     
ZYBOOKS: Lori Berns Lori.berns@zybooks.com
  Malcolm Townsend Malcolm.townsend@zybooks.com

VII. MARKETING:

Various marketing materials are available to download and reproduce from the AL$ websites. In addition, there is a set of exhibit materials including a medium-sized banner that bookstores may loan for their campus events.

Affordable Learning Solutions brochure: 

CSU MERLOT brochure: 

OER Search for your webpage:

Quick Open Textbook Searches in MERLOT

Enter key words below to search the entire MERLOT library.

 

 

Enter the ISBN of a book below to find related FREE open textbooks.

 

The AL$ webpage also offers tools and resources to plan and market communications and events at /http://affordablelearningsolutions.org/

This site includes:

  • Project planning template
  • Communication planning template
  • Guildelines for planning and deploying your AL$ program

For further assistance with marketing resources and to reserve the bookstore loan items, please contact the project marketing manager at fneely@calstate.edu

VIII. PRESENTATIONS:

Available upon request

  • AOA:
  • ALS:
  • CAMEX (NACS)
  • BOOKSTORE ADVISORY TEAM
  • BOOKSTORES

IX. PROJECTS AND PILOTS:

Affordable Learning Solutions has and continues to conduct pilots of solutions that are possible savings for CSU students. Pilots are conducted to provide a basis for evaluation as well as to conduct an actual use case to customize and improve products and services. Projects are adopted products or services that are organized with vendor partners for the most efficient provision of options to faculty and students.

OpenStax Interactive eReader

X. AL$ WEB PAGE LINKS:

WEBINARS

NEWS ARTICLES

VENDOR PARTNER PROGRAMS

  • Course Materials Program
  • Custom Publishing Program

AL$ CAMPUS SHOWCASES

LIBRARY RESOURCES

XI. RESOURCES:

AL$ maintains resources for bookstores to participate in all AL$ programs and CSU/legal directives. Many may be accessed via the web. For assistance, contact the AL$ bookstore liaison at sehrhorn@calstate.edu

Auxiliary policy, Title 5: http://www.calstate.edu/FT/auxorg/PDF0800/AppCT5.pdf

Course Fees Executive order 1102: http://www.calstate.edu/budget/student-fees/fee-policy/categories.shtml#c3

Budget Office accountability 1102: http://www.calstate.edu/budget/student-fees/fee-policy/categories.shtml

Non General Funds Executive Order 919: http://www.calstate.edu/EO/EO-919.html

Higher Education Opportunity Act: https://www2.ed.gov/policy/highered/leg/hea08/index.html

HEOA FAQs: http://stage.csuals.org/node/206

XII. AL$ COURSE FEE SUGGESTIONS:

To assist faculty in expediting course fee approval on your campus, please share the following ‘Five Easy Steps’ and course fee worksheet:

FIVE EASY STEPS FOR FACULTY TO OBTAIN COURSE FEE APPROVAL FOR COURSE MATERIALS

COURSE FEE COMMITTEE SITES:

Bakersfield: http://www.csub.edu/bas/fiscal/studaccount/student%20financial%20services%20forms/fee_and_waiver_req.xls

Channel Islands: https://www.csuci.edu/sfc/sfac.htm

Chico: http://www.csuchico.edu/prs/EMs/2011/11-045.shtml

Dominguez Hills: http://www4.csudh.edu/Assets/CSUDH-Sites/Budget-Plan-Admin/docs/Campus-Fee-Advisory/CFAC-Committee-FY2012-13.pdf

East Bay: http://www.csueastbay.edu/a2e2/files/docs/archive/archive1213.pdf

Fresno: http://www.fresnostate.edu/

Fullerton: http://www.fullerton.edu/sa/studentfees/

Humboldt: https://policy.humboldt.edu/emp01-05-student-fee-advisory-committee

Long Beach: http://web.csulb.edu/divisions/students/sfac/

Los Angeles: http://www.calstatela.edu/sites/default/files/groups/Administration%20and%20Finance/204/ap204.pdf and procedures

Cal Maritime: (suggest requesting information from Finance or Student Affairs)

Monterey Bay: https://csumb.edu/senate/senate-committees

Northridge: http://www.csun.edu/studentaffairs/recommendation-student-fee-advisory-committee

Pomona: http://www.cpp.edu/~fee_advisory/petition.shtml

Sacramento: http://www.csus.edu/aba/sfac/

San Bernardino: https://www.csusb.edu/policies/policy-guidelines-implementation-campus-fees

San Diego: http://bfa.sdsu.edu/financial/budget/budfin/cfacpage.aspx

San Francisco: http://vpsaem.sfsu.edu/sfac

San Jose: http://www.sjsu.edu/finance/about_us/core_services/campus_fee_program/fee_proposals/

San Luis Obispo: https://afd.calpoly.edu/fees/ssfaac/

San Marco: http://www.csusm.edu/studentaffairs/committees/feeadvisory.html

Sonoma: http://web.sonoma.edu/uaffairs/policies/feepolicy.htm

Stanislaus: https://www.csustan.edu/asi-usu/student-government/university-wide-committees